Français
Palais des congrès, Montréal QC | April 16 & 17, 2019

Seminars and Demos

FREE SEMINARS & DEMONSTRATIONS

ROOFTech 2019 will feature seminars and demonstrations. You'll learn about steep slope and low slope roofing systems along with some valuable insights about roofing insulation.

Attendees at ROOFTech 2019 will have the unique opportunity to observe the actual installation of various roof assemblies right on the exposition floor. The demonstrations will present a brief history on the development of each major roofing assembly, some of their features and benefits, and then provide a live application of each system. Demonstrations will showcase typical flashing details, good roofing practice techniques as well as all important safety precautions. There will be a team leader who will provide running commentary.

ROOFTech 2019 seminars and demonstrations are organized by the Canadian Roofing Contractors Association.

ROOFTech 2019 seminar and demonstration attendance might be accredited for continuing education by the following associations:


OAA ConEd Learning Hours

Earn OAA ConEd Structured Learning Hours by attending seminars and demonstrations accredited by the Ontario Association of Architects. Credits will be granted based on the length of the session. Attendees will earn one (1) OAA Structured Learning Hour for each session hour attended. Seminars and demonstrations less than one hour in length are not eligible for OAA ConEd credits.

BOMI Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Designation Credits

Earn BOMI Designation Credits by attending seminars and demonstrations accredited by the Building Owners and Managers Institute. Credits will be granted based on the length of the session. Attendees will earn one (1) BOMI Credit for each session hour attended.

RCI Continuing Education Hours

Earn RCI CEH by attending seminars and demonstrations accredited by RCI Ontario Chapter.



2017 SEMINARS & DEMONSTRATIONS

  • Tuesday April 25, 2017
  • Wednesday April 26, 2017

Tuesday April 25, 2017

Expand your knowledge by attending one of 4 expert-led seminars tackling timely issues, trends and best practices. Seek solutions to matters affecting you directly while earning continuing education credits. Seminar details will be posted by November 1, 2019


Concurrent Seminars/Business Sessions

9:00 a.m.

Doing Business with the Various Government Levels

Presenters:
Menelaos (Manny) Argiropoulos
, Chief, SME Stakeholder Engagement, Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) – Office of Small and Medium Enterprises (OSME), (www.buyandsell.gc.ca) and regionally (www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/ontario/bpme-osme/)
Kevin Fox, Kevin Fox, Senior Procurement Consultant, Ministry of Government and Consumer Services, Supply Chain Ontario

This seminar will help you learn how to do business with the Government of Canada and the Province of Ontario. You will learn how these levels of government do its purchasing, and how to include these groups as your customers! This seminar will cover many topics including: understanding their procurement processes, building relationships and how to prepare a bid response. This session will be presented by representatives from the Government of Canada and the Province of Ontario.

1 OAA Credit
1 RCI CEH

Presenters:
Mr. Menelaos (Manny) Argiropoulos has been working for Public Works and Government Services Canada, Ontario Region since 1991. He has held various positions, ranging from Real Estate Advisor to Geomatics Project Manager and is currently the Chief, SME Stakeholder Engagement with the Office of Small and Medium Enterprises (OSME). Mr. Argiropoulos is responsible for supplier outreach and engagement for OSME. He also delivers seminars that assist and inform suppliers in Ontario on how to do business with the Government of Canada, The Build in Canada Innovation Program, how to navigate the federal procurement system and how to utilize www.buyandsell.gc.ca, the federal procurement website.


Kevin Fox leads the Doing Business with the Ontario Government vendor outreach sessions throughout the province.  Kevin has had extensive procurement experience with provincial, federal and municipal government organizations throughout his former corporate career.



9:00 a.m.

Roofing from an Asset Point of View

Presenter: Joel Dandelé, President of Dantech Building Technologies Inc.

Building owners and managers need to decide when to repair or replace a roof in a building’s life cycle. In order to maximize service life, a roof must be viewed as any other asset. Maximizing ROI while controlling costs can be a difficult task. What can be done to maintain the roof, keep costs down and avoid problems? This session identifies how the right choices in the design and installation stages will assist in maximizing a roof’s performance while correct maintenance and planning can extend service life and maximize ROI.

1 OAA Credit
1 BOMI Credit
1 RCI CEH

Presenter:
Joel Dandelé is President of Dantech Building Technologies Inc. based in Markham, Ontario. Joel has over 38 years of hands-on experience solving roofing and building envelope problems. Throughout his roofing career, Joel has been responsible for managing industrial / commercial / institutional accounts and corporate accounts across Canada. Joel’s education in roofing and waterproofing has been developed through his past contacting, technical sales and consulting experience in the ICI roofing market place. Joel is currently a Director of OIRCA and a past-President of RCI - Ontario.



Free Demonstrations

11:00 a.m.

Thermo-Plastic Roofing Systems


The presentation will begin with a discussion of the development and evolution of thermo-plastic membranes, their features and benefits. The use of thermo-plastic membranes in new, re-roofing and recover applications in both conventional and protected membrane assemblies will also be covered. The demonstration will show how a thermo-plastic roofing system is assembled from the roof deck up including the vapour retarder, insulation and attachment methods. The thermo-plastic membrane will then be installed showing the positioning of the sheets, treatment of the edges and corners, and fastening and seaming techniques.

1 OAA Credit
1 RCI CEH

View demo video here



1:00 p.m.

EPDM Roofing Systems


The presentation will open with the history of EPDM membranes as well as their features and benefits. The use of EPDM membranes in new, re-roofing and recover applications in both conventional and protected membrane assemblies will be discussed. The demonstration will include the installation of the vapour retarder and the roof insulation, and a discussion of the attachment methods. The EPDM membrane will then be installed showing the positioning of the sheets, treatment of the edges and corners, and attachment and seaming techniques.

1 OAA Credit
1 RCI CEH

View demo video here


3:00 p.m.

Steep Slope Roofing Systems


The presentation will begin with a history and general overview of steep slope roofing. The differences between steep slope and low slope will be addressed and the features and benefits of each steep slope system; shingles, slate and traditional metal roofing will be discussed. Asphalt shingle products will then be installed showing both the field of the roof, as well as common details such as a valley, hip and ridge.

1 OAA Credit
1 RCI CEH

View demo video here



2017 ROOFTech Outdoor Demo Schedule

12:15 p.m. - 12:45 p.m. Soprema Canada
12:15 p.m. - 12:45 p.m. NaturaSeal     
   
2:15 pm - 2:45 pm Elastizell                                                              
2:15 pm - 2:45 pm GAF       

Wednesday April 26, 2017

Expand your knowledge by attending one of 4 expert-led seminars tackling timely issues, trends and best practices. Seek solutions to matters affecting you directly while earning continuing education credits. Seminar details will be posted by November 1, 2017


9:00 a.m.

Building Roofs for Climate Change Adaptation


Presenters:
Dr. Bas Baskaran, Group Leader at the National Research Council of Canada
Peter Kalinger, Technical Director at the Canadian Roofing Contractors Association

Climate change is predicted have profound effect on our as-built environment in the coming decades. Although there is no absolute certainty on the magnitude of its consequences, there is general agreement that they will be increased risk of damage to our infrastructure and the buildings we inhabit. Stresses imposed by anticipated rising temperatures, more intense rainfall and water runoff, more frequent and intense wind and hail, and ice storms all threaten the durability and reliability of the building envelope. Identifying the weakest links on the roofs for climate change and developing adaption techniques are essential to secure the performance of the roofs. A holistic adaptation approach should encompass all aspects (design, product evaluation and installation) to provide the building owner a resilient roof. This presentation discusses key principles for evaluating, designing, and building climate change resistant roofs.

1 OAA Credit
1 RCI CEH

Presenters:
Dr. Baskaran is a Group Leader at the National Research Council of Canada. At the NRC, he is researching the wind effects on building envelopes through experiments and computer modeling. As adjunct professor at the University of Ottawa, he supervises graduate students. As a professional engineer, he is a member of Roofing Committee on Weather Issues (RICOWI), RCI Inc., ASCE, SPRI, ICBEST, and CIB technical committees. He is a Research advisor to various Task Group of the National Building Code of Canada and member of the wind load committee of American Society of Civil Engineers. He has authored and /or co-authored over 200 research articles and received over 25 awards, including Frank Lander award from Canadian Roofing Contractors Association and Carl Cash Award from ASTM. Dr. Baskaran contribution to the Canada’s science and technology was recognized by Her Majesty Queen with 60th Silver Jubilee medal.

Peter Kalinger has been the Technical Director of the Canadian Roofing Contractors Association since 1993. He has over 40 years of experience in the roofing industry. He has authored numerous papers and articles on roofing in technical and scientific journals and presented papers at national and international symposia on roofing technology. He is active on numerous Canadian roofing and has been an active member of International committees including CIB/RILEM, and ASTM and is a member of the Roof Consultants Institute (RCI, Inc.), and Construction Specifications Canada. In 2012, Mr. Kalinger received the ASTM International Committee D08 on Roofing and Waterproofing William C. Cullen Award for his outstanding contributions to international standards for roofing and waterproofing. Mr. Kalinger holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Public Administration degree from Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada.


9:00 a.m.

Making Important Roofing Decisions and Avoiding Costly Mistakes: Strategies for Building Owners & Managers

Moderator:
George Wilson,
Owner, Cindott Inc.

Presenters:

Mark Baxter
, Vice President, Business Development, Semple Gooder Roofing Corporation
Lidia Di Maria, Project Manager, Bentall Kennedy (Canada) LP
Jean-Guy Levaque, Senior Principal, Building Sciences, WSP Canada

All building owners and managers will at some time be faced with the need to replace or renovate a roof. With the vast array of products, designs, and systems available today, finding the best and most effective solution can be a daunting task. Replace or recover? Repair or tear-off? The right decision can add substantially to the bottom line and the building’s performance. The wrong decision can result in economic loss and unhappy tenants. This session will provide building owners and managers with some practical and proven guidelines for making those important roofing decisions and avoiding costly mistakes.

1 OAA Credit
1 BOMI Credit
1 RCI CEH

This session will be a panel discussion involving three levels of professional expertise in the making of critical roofing decisions. The panel will comprise a Professional Commercial Roofing Contractor, an Engineering Roof Consultant and a Property Owner/Manager.

Moderator:
George spent 30 years working for Ontario Hydro and Ontario Power Generation in the Civil Department. Working as a Civil Mechanic, then a Civil Foreman, and promoted to a Building Maintenance Officer.  George ended his career with O.H/O.P.G working his last 10 years as the Manager of the Building Maintenance Department in charge of the Building Envelopes for all the Buildings and Stations in the province of Ontario. He has over 30 years experience in the Roofing Industry covering design, specifications, inspections, maintenance, material testing, training development and training course delivery.  George is the owner of Cindott Inc. established in 2004. Cindott Inc. specializes in Roof Inspections and Roofing Training. The main focus is now is the delivery of the “Roofing Technology, Maintenance & Inspection Training Course”  George is an RRO (Registered Roof Observer) with the Roof Consultants Institute and is a Consultant Member of the Ontario Industrial Roofing Contractors Association.               

Presenters:
Mark is Vice President of Business Development at Semple Gooder Roofing Corporation. Semple Gooder has served the industrial roofing market since 1947. The company is a founding member of both the Ontario Industrial Roofing Contractors Association (OIRCA) and the Canadian Roofing Contractors Association (CRCA). Mark has learned the business by doing. He graduated from the Sheet Metal Apprenticeship program and is a Certified Sheet Metal Worker. He then spent time as a Roofing Superintendent, working his way up to his current role. Mark is a Registered Roof Observer.

Lidia Di Maria is a Project Manager of the Technical Service and Project Management Department with Bentall Kennedy Canada. She is a graduate of York University and has worked in the construction industry for over 13 years. She has spent the last 10 years in the property management sector with Bentall Kennedy, handling project procurement and management of interior/exterior renovations and capital building improvements.   As a member or the property management group, her team’s role is to serve the best interests of the client; protecting the assets and ensuring greatest satisfaction for tenants.

As a Specialist Roofing Consultant with more than 36 years of experience, working for WSP Canada Inc., Jean-Guy has been servicing high profile National clients, in existing building retrofit and new construction. A fluently bilingual consultant, he has an in-depth knowledge of the roofing industry and is widely recognized throughout Canada. Mr. Levaque actively participates in the shaping of the roofing and building envelope industry in North America as Immediate Past President of RCI Inc. (2014-2015), a 3,100 member strong association of professional roofing, waterproofing and building envelope professionals. In his role as the Roofing Centre of Excellence Leader, Jean-Guy helps position WSP as the Best in Class in the industry.



Free Demonstrations

10:30 a.m.

Green Roofing


A presentation that will provide you a better understanding of one of the most commonly discussed topics in commercial roofing today: The Vegetated Roof. Utilizing full sized sectional mock ups of 4 different vegetated roofing systems, attendees will be walked through the components that comprise these types of assemblies. Each component will be discussed as to their function and possible variations so that participants may obtain a firsthand knowledge of this increasingly popular environmental roof covering.

1 OAA Credit
1 RCI CEH

View demo video here



12:30 p.m.

Modified Bitumen Roofing Systems


The presentation will examine the history of modified bitumen as well as their major features and benefits. The use of modified bitumen membranes in new, re-roofing and recover applications in both conventional and protected membrane assemblies will also be covered. The demonstration will show the installation of a modified bitumen roofing system from the deck up including the vapour retarder, the primary insulation and a cover-board application. The modified bitumen membrane will then be installed showing the base sheet and cap sheet, treatment of the edges and corners, and fastening and attachment techniques.

1 OAA Credit
1 RCI CEH

View demo video here


2:30 p.m.

Built- Up Roofing Systems


The presentation will discuss the history, evolution, features and benefits of built-up roofing. The use of buildup roofing in new, re-roofing and recover applications in both conventional and protected membrane assemblies will be also examined. The demonstration will show the installation of the vapour retarder, the primary insulation and a cover-board, and their attachment methods. The built-up roofing membrane assemblies will be also examined. The built-up roofing membrane will be installed showing the plies, the waterproofing coats, and treatment of the edges and comers and the surface.

1 OAA Credit
1 RCI CEH

View demo video here



2019 ROOFTech Outdoor Demo Schedule

11:45 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. Mule-Hide Products                                                      
11:45 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. Polyglass USA Inc                                                            
   
1:45 p.m. -  2:15 p.m. Siplast                                                                      
1:45 p.m. -  2:15 p.m. Gaco Western

 








2017 SPONSORS

TITLE SPONSOR

Sponsoring Association

PLATINUM SPONSORS




GOLD SPONSORS


SILVER SPONSORS







WASTE MANAGEMENT SPONSOR


Supporting Associations






Media

English
Palais des congrès, Montréal QC | Les 16 et 17 avril 2019

Séances techniques et démonstrations

SÉANCES TECHNIQUES ET
DÉMONSTRATIONS GRATUITES

TOITech 2019 offrira séances techniques et importantes démonstrations vous feront mieux connaître les systèmes de couvertures pour les toits à forte pente et à faible pente, en plus de vous offrir des aperçus très utiles au sujet de l’isolation.

Les visiteurs de TOITech 2019 auront l'occasion unique d'observer la pose réelle de divers types de couvertures, directement sur le plancher de l'exposition.  Un bref historique de l'évolution de chacun des principaux types de toitures sera suivi d’une description de quelques-uns de leurs avantages et de leurs caractéristiques, puis d’une application réelle de chaque système, pendant laquelle on va mettre en évidence les détails de solins typiques, les bonnes pratiques techniques, ainsi que d'importantes précautions de sécurité.  Un chef d'équipe va présenter des explications pendant l'exécution des travaux.

Les séances techniques et les démonstrations de TOITech 2019 sont organisées par les membres de l'Association canadienne des entrepreneurs en couverture.

La présence aux séminaires et démonstrations de TOITech 2019 donne droit à des unités de formation continue des associations suivantes:


Heures d’apprentissage OAA ConEd

Accumulez des heures d’apprentissage structuré d’OAA ConEd en assistant à des séminaires et à des démonstrations reconnus par l’Ontario Association of Architects. Les crédits seront accordés en fonction de la durée de la session. Les participants pourront accumuler une (1) heure d’apprentissage structuré de l’OAA pour chaque heure de la session à laquelle ils ont assisté. Les séminaires et démonstrations de moins d’une heure ne sont pas admissibles à des unités de formation continue de l’OAA.

Crédits de développement professionnel continu (CPD) du BOMI

Accumulez des crédits du BOMI en participant à des séminaires et à des démonstrations reconnus par le Building Owners and Managers Institute. Les crédits seront accordés en fonction de la durée de la session. Les participants obtiennent un (1) Crédit BOMI pour chaque heure de la session à laquelle ils ont assisté.

Heures d’apprentissage RCI

Accumulez des heures de formation continue (CEH) auprès du RCI en assistant aux séminaires et démonstrations reconnus par la section ontarienne du RCI.



2017 Séances techniques et démonstrations

  • Le mardi 25 avril
  • Le mercredi 26 avril

Le mardi 25 avril

Les détails des séminaires seront publiés le 1er Novembre 2019


Séminaires et sessions

9h

Faire des affaires avec les divers paliers de gouvernement

Présentateur:
Menelaos (Manny) Argiropoulos
, chef de l’engagement des intervenants auprès des PME, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC), Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises (BPME), (www.achatsetventes.gc.ca) et régionalement (www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/ontario/bpme-osme/)
Kevin Fox, conseiller principal en approvisionnement, Direction de l’application des programmes et politiques, ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs, Gestion de la chaîne d’approvisionnement Ontario.

Ce séminaire vous apprendra à faire des affaires avec le Gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement ontarien. On vous expliquera les mécanismes d’achat de ces paliers de gouvernement, pour que vous puissiez les ajouter à votre clientèle. Plusieurs sujets seront abordés : comprendre le processus d’approvisionnement, tisser des liens, préparer sa soumission. Cette séance sera animée par des représentants du Gouvernement du Canada et du Gouvernement de l’Ontario.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit RCI


Présentateur:
Menelaos (Manny) Argiropoulos travaille au bureau ontarien de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada depuis 1991. Il y a occupé plusieurs postes, dont conseiller en affaires immobilières et chargé de projet en géomatique. Actuellement, il est chef de l’engagement des intervenants auprès des PME au Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises (BPME). M. Argiropoulos est responsable de la sensibilisation et de l’engagement des fournisseurs pour le BPME. En outre, il présente des séminaires pour enseigner aux fournisseurs ontariens à faire des affaires avec le Gouvernement du Canada, leur présenter le Programme d’innovation Construire au Canada, les aider à naviguer le système d’approvisionnement du fédéral et les guider dans l’utilisation du site d’approvisionnement fédéral www.achatsetventes.gc.ca.


Kevin Fox dirige les séances d’information destinées aux fournisseurs souhaitant traiter avec le gouvernement de l’Ontario. Kevin a eu une vaste expérience d’achat avec les organismes gouvernementaux provinciaux, fédéraux et municipaux tout au long de son ancienne carrière en entreprise.

 


9h

La couverture: un actif

Présentateur: Joel Dandelé, président de Dantech Building Technologies Inc.

Les propriétaires et les gestionnaires de bâtiments doivent choisir le moment, dans le cycle de vie d’un bâtiment, où il faudra réparer ou remplacer la toiture. Il est important de voir la toiture comme un actif afin de maximiser sa durée de vie utile. Or, il est difficile d’arriver à maximiser le rendement d’un investissement tout en limitant les coûts. Que peut-on faire pour entretenir la couverture, limiter les coûts et éviter les problèmes ? Dans cette séance, nous expliquerons les choix à faire aux étapes de la conception et de l’installation afin de maximiser le rendement d’un toit, sans oublier l’entretien et la planification qui permettent d’en prolonger la vie utile et de rentabiliser l’investissement.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit BOMI
1 Crédit RCI

Présentateur:
Joel Dandelé est président de Dantech Building Technologies Inc. de Markham, en Ontario. Il cumule plus de 38 ans d’expérience pratique dans la résolution de problèmes d’enveloppe de couverture et de bâtiment. Au cours de sa carrière dans la couverture, il a été gestionnaire de comptes industriels, commerciaux, institutionnels et corporatifs à travers le Canada. Il a développé son expertise en couvertures et en imperméabilisation au fil de ses expériences dans le démarchage, la vente technique et la consultance pour le marché de la toiture ICI. Joel est membre du conseil d’administration de l’OIRCA et ancien président de RCI Ontario.


Démonstrations à TOITech 2019

11h

Systèmes de toiture thermoplastiques

La présentation débutera par un exposé sur le développement et l’évolution des membranes thermoplastique, leurs caractéristiques et leurs avantages. On traitera aussi de l’utilisation de membranes thermoplastiques pour la construction nouvelle et la rénovation de toitures à membrane conventionnelle et protégée. La démonstration montrera comment un système thermoplastique est posé sur le platelage de toit, y compris le pare-vapeur, l’isolant et les méthodes de fixation. La membrane thermoplastique sera alors posée en montrant le positionnement des feuilles, le traitement des bords et des coins, et les techniques de fixation et de sertissage.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit RCI

Voir le vidéo de demonstration ici



13h

Systèmes de toiture en EPDM

La présentation débutera par l’histoire des membranes EPDM, ainsi que leurs caractéristiques et les avantages. On traitera aussi de l’utilisation de membranes EPDM pour la construction nouvelle et la rénovation de toitures à membrane conventionnelle et protégée. La démonstration comprendra l’installation du pare-vapeur et l’isolation du toit, et une discussion sur les méthodes de fixation. La membrane EPDM sera alors posée en montrant le positionnement des feuilles, le traitement des bords et des coins, et les techniques de fixation et de sertissage.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit RCI

Voir le vidéo de demonstration ici



15h

Systèmes de toiture à forte pente

La présentation commencera par un historique et un aperçu général de la toiture en forte pente. Les différences entre la forte pente et la faible pente seront expliquées, et les caractéristiques et l’on exposera les avantages de chaque système : bardeaux, ardoise et toiture métallique traditionnelle. Des produits de bardeaux d’asphalte seront ensuite installés en montrant des détails communs comme les vallées et les crêtes.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit RCI

Voir le vidéo de demonstration ici



Horaire des démonstrations à l’extérieur de TOITech 2019

12h 15 - 12h 45 Soprema Canada
12h 15 - 12h 45 NaturaSeal     
   
2h 15 -  2h 45 Elastizell                                                              
2h 15 -  2h 45 GAF       

Le mercredi 26 avril

Les détails des séminaires seront publiés le 1er Novembre, 2017


Séminaires et sessions

9h

Construire des couvertures adaptables aux changements climatiques

Présentateur:
Bas Baskaran, chef d’équipe au Conseil national de recherches du Canada
Peter Kalinger, directeur technique de l’Association canadienne des entrepreneurs en couverture

On s’attend à ce que les changements climatiques aient de graves répercussions sur notre environnement bâti dans les prochaines décennies. Bien qu’on ne puisse être certain de la magnitude de ces effets, les experts s’entendent pour dire que notre infrastructure et les bâtiments que nous occupons seront plus à risque de subir des dommages. La durabilité et la fiabilité de l’enveloppe du bâtiment seront mises à mal par la hausse attendue des températures et des précipitations d’un côté, la multiplication des épisodes de vents violents, de grêle et de pluie verglaçante de l’autre. Pour protéger le rendement des couvertures, il devient essentiel d’en identifier les maillons faibles et d’élaborer des techniques d’adaptation. Une approche globale de l’adaptation portera autant sur la conception et l’évaluation des produits que sur l’installation, pour pouvoir offrir au propriétaire une toiture résiliente. Cet exposé portera sur les grands principes de l’évaluation, de la conception et de la construction de couvertures résistantes aux changements climatiques.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit RCI

Présentateur:
M. Baskaran est chef d’équipe au Conseil national de recherche du Canada, où il mène des expériences et des modélisations informatiques sur les effets du vent sur l’enveloppe des bâtiments. À titre de professeur adjoint à l’Université d’Ottawa, il supervise des étudiants de 2e et 3e cycle. À titre d’ingénieur, il est membre du Roofing Committee on Weather Issues (RICOWI), de RCI Inc., de l’ASCE, du SPRI, de l’ICBEST et des comités techniques de RIC. Il est conseiller en recherche pour divers groupes de travail du Code national du bâtiment du Canada et membre du comité sur les charges dues au vent de l’American Society of Civil Engineers. Il a écrit ou coécrit plus de 200 articles scientifiques. Il a reçu plus de 25 prix et distinctions, dont le Prix Frank-Lander de l’Association canadienne des entrepreneurs en couverture et le Prix Carl Cash de l’ASTM. Sa Majesté la reine lui a remis la Médaille du jubilé de diamant en guise de reconnaissance pour sa contribution au développement des sciences et des technologies au Canada.

Peter Kalinger est directeur technique de l’Association canadienne des entrepreneurs en couverture depuis 1993. Il possède plus de 40 ans d’expérience dans le secteur de la couverture. Il est l’auteur de nombreux articles publiés dans des revues scientifiques et techniques. En outre, il a présenté des articles dans des symposiums nationaux et internationaux sur les technologies des toitures. Il participe à plusieurs comités nationaux et internationaux, dont le CIB-RILEM et l’ASTM, en plus d’être membre du Roof Consultants Institute (RCI, Inc.) et de Devis de construction Canada. En 2012, le comité international D08 de l’ASTM sur les couvertures et l’imperméabilisation décernait à M. Kalinger le Prix William C. Cullen pour sa contribution exceptionnelle aux normes internationales de couverture et d’imperméabilisation. M. Kalinger détient un baccalauréat en arts et une maîtrise en administration publique de l’Université Carleton (Ottawa, Canada).


9h

Prendre de grandes décisions et éviter les erreurs coûteuses en matière de couvertures : stratégies à l’intention des propriétaires et gestionnaires de bâtiments


Modérateur:
George Wilson, propriétaire, Cindott Inc.

Présentateur:

Mark Baxter, vice-président du développement commercial chez Semple Gooder Roofing Corporation
Lidia Di Maria, chef de projet, Bentall Kennedy (Canada) LP
Jean-Guy Levaque, RRC, RRO, MAATO, GRP, Associé principal, Sciences du bâtiment

Tout propriétaire ou gestionnaire de bâtiment doit faire face, un jour ou l’autre, au remplacement ou à la rénovation d’un toit. Et difficile de trouver la meilleure solution parmi le vaste éventail de produits et de systèmes à leur portée. On remplace ou on recouvre ? On répare ou on arrache ? La bonne solution jouera pour beaucoup dans le rendement et la rentabilité du bâtiment. La mauvaise décision, elle, fait perdre de l’argent en plus d’irriter les locataires. Cette séance proposera aux propriétaires et aux gestionnaires de bâtiments des conseils pratiques éprouvés pour les aider à prendre des décisions concernant les toitures en évitant les erreurs coûteuses.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit BOMI
1 Crédit RCI

Cette séance prendra la forme d’une table ronde à laquelle participeront trois niveaux d’expertise professionnelle dans la prise de décisions cruciales à propos des toitures : un entrepreneur en couvertures commerciales, un ingénieur-conseil et un propriétaire-gestionnaire de bâtiments.

Modérateur:
George spent 30 years working for Ontario Hydro and Ontario Power Generation in the Civil Department. Working as a Civil Mechanic, then a Civil Foreman, and promoted to a Building Maintenance Officer.  George ended his career with O.H/O.P.G working his last 10 years as the Manager of the Building Maintenance Department in charge of the Building Envelopes for all the Buildings and Stations in the province of Ontario. He has over 30 years experience in the Roofing Industry covering design, specifications, inspections, maintenance, material testing, training development and training course delivery.  George is the owner of Cindott Inc. established in 2004. Cindott Inc. specializes in Roof Inspections and Roofing Training. The main focus is now is the delivery of the “Roofing Technology, Maintenance & Inspection Training Course”  George is an RRO (Registered Roof Observer) with the Roof Consultants Institute and is a Consultant Member of the Ontario Industrial Roofing Contractors Association.               

Présentateur:

Mark est vice-président du développement commercial chez Semple Gooder Roofing Corporation. Semple Gooder sert le marché de la couverture industrielle depuis 1947. La société est un membre fondateur de l’Ontario Roofing Industrial Contractors Association (OIRCA) et de l’Association canadienne des entrepreneurs en couvertures (ACEC). Mark a appris son métier sur le tas. Diplômé du programme d’apprentissage en tôlerie, il est un ferblantier certifié. Il a ensuite travaillé comme surintendant des couvertures et a gravi les échelons jusqu’à son poste actuel. Mark est un observateur de toiture enregistré.

Lidia Di Maria est directrice de projet au Département du service technique et de la gestion de projet de Bentall Kennedy Canada. Elle est diplômée de l'Université York et travaille dans l'industrie de la construction depuis plus de 13 ans. Elle a passé les 10 dernières années dans le secteur de la gestion immobilière avec Bentall Kennedy, qui gère les projets d'approvisionnement, les rénovations intérieures/extérieures majeures et les améliorations de bâtiments. En tant que membre du groupe de gestion immobilière, son équipe qa pour rôle de servir les intérêts supérieurs du client en protégeant les biens et en assurant la plus grande satisfaction pour les locataires.

En tant que consultant en toiture avec plus de 36 ans d'expérience, Jean-Guy sert les clients nationaux prestigieux de WSP Canada Inc. dans la modernisation et la construction d’immeubles. Parfaitement bilingue, il a une connaissance approfondie de l'industrie de la toiture et est largement reconnu partout au Canada. M. Levaque participe activement à façonner l'industrie des couvertures et enveloppes de bâtiment en Amérique du Nord en tant que président sortant de RCI Inc. (2014 2015), une association regroupant 3000 professionnels des couvertures, de l’étanchéité et des enveloppes de bâtiments. Dans son rôle en tant que chef du Centre d’excellence en couvertures, Jean-Guy aide à positionner WSP comme un chef de file.


Démonstrations à TOITech 2019

10h 30

Toits verts

Une présentation qui vous donnera une meilleure compréhension de l’un des sujets les plus fréquemment abordés dans les toitures commerciales d’aujourd’hui : Le toit végétalisé. Utilisant des maquettes sectionnelles grandeur nature de quatre systèmes de toiture végétalisés, les participants se verront expliquer un à un les éléments qui composent ces types d’assemblages. On expliquera les fonctions et variations de chaque composante afin que les participants puissent obtenir une connaissance de première main de cette conception de toit de plus en plus populaire.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit RCI

Voir le vidéo de demonstration ici



12h 30

Systèmes en bitume modifié

On passera en revue l’histoire, les caractéristiques et les avantages des systèmes de couverture en bitume modifié. On traitera aussi de l’utilisation de membranes en bitume modifié pour la construction nouvelle et la rénovation de toitures à membrane conventionnelle et protégée. La démonstration montrera l’installation d’un système en bitume modifié à même le platelage y compris le pare-vapeur, l’isolation primaire et une application de panneaux de couverture. La membrane de bitume modifié sera alors installée en montrant la feuille de base et la couche de finition, le traitement des bords et des coins, et les techniques de fixation.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit RCI

Voir le vidéo de demonstration ici


14h 30

Systèmes multicouches

La présentation portera sur l’histoire, l’évolution, les caractéristiques et les avantages des toits multicouches. On traitera aussi de l’utilisation de toits multicouches pour la construction nouvelle et la rénovation de toitures à membrane conventionnelle et protégée. La démonstration montrera l’installation du pare-vapeur, de l’isolation primaire et de panneaux de couverture, ainsi que leurs méthodes de fixation. On examinera aussi les assemblages de toitures multicouches. La membrane multicouches sera installée en montrant les couches, l’imperméabilisation, le traitement des bords et des coins et la surface.

1 Crédit OAA
1 Crédit RCI

Voir le vidéo de demonstration ici



Horaire des démonstrations à l’extérieur de TOITech 2019

11h 45 - 12h 15 Mule-Hide Products                                                      
11h 45 - 12h 15 Polyglass USA Inc                                                            
   
1h 45 -  2h 15 Siplast                                                                      
1h 45 -  2h 15 Gaco Western

2017 PARRAINS ET COMMANDITAIRES

COMMANDITE TITRE

Association Tutélaire

PARRAINS PLATINE




PARRAINS OR


PARRAINS D' ARGENT






PARRAINS GESTION DES DÉCHETS

Associations de soutien






PARRAINS MÉDIA